History of Sacred Heart

A land donation of two and a half acres in 1942 by Mr. & Mrs. H. Jahn, members of Sacred Heart Parish, paved the way for a groundbreaking for a new church on September 30, 1945. The site was chosen for easy access to parishioners from Mira Loma, Glen Avon, Glen Heights, Pedley and Sparrland.

Earlier Fr. Michael 0'Farrell, pastor of the 150-family parish, together with Bishop Charles Buddy, had offered the first Mass in the American Legion Hall on Palm Sunday 1945. The church became a reality with the help of a wide array of donations: $5,000, a marble altar, an electric organ, Stations of the Cross and an artistic plaque of the Last Supper.

Of special note was the donation by the Chapel of the Academy of the Sacred Heart of San Francisco of 10 stained-glass windows depicting women saints both early and recent. These include St. Madeleine Sophie Barat, St. Cecelia, St. Catherine, St. Agnes, St. Rose of Lima, Apparition of St. Margaret Mary, St. Philomena, St. Joan of Arc, St. Teresa of Avila and St. Claire.

In 1957 the church was extended to accommodate a growing congregation and recent renovations include the refinishing of the pews and new carpeting. Today, nearly 50 years later, the parish serves 1001 families, boasts an active Jovenes (Youth for Christ) group, instructs 900 children in religious education classes and has a flourishing RCIA.