History of Our Lady of Solitude

The "Little Church" of Our Lady of Solitude, Palm Springs was built in 1929 in the California Mission style primarily for the travelers who come to the city's famous resorts. Because in the desert a Mission style of architecture is uncommon, Our Lady of Solitude, as a downtown monument of honest design and simple construction, has sparked interest in its form. Both the church and the hospitality of its parishioners and pastors have brought warmth to the area.

The "Little Church," as it was called before it was officially named Our Lady of Solitude, has had many groups throughout its years. The Holy Name Society and Our Lady of Solitude Women's Guild met the needs of the 70s. In the present the parish has made in impact on the community by providing more than 20 ministries to meet people's needs, from ministries of service to religious education to formation programs.

As the years pass, some changes have been made in the appearance of the church, but its tranquil and devotional atmosphere invites the meditation and repose fostered by its charming simplicity of form and the warmth so appropriate to a house of God that it exudes.