History of Our Lady of Lourdes

Newly appointed pastor, Fr. Joseph C. Mackey, celebrated liturgy for the first time on June 12, 1955, for some 20 families of Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Montclair, at the then Valley Drive-In Theater. During that summer, a property was purchased and a year and a half thereafter, a church was built by hardworking and dedicated parishioners during weekends and evenings.

Dominating the structure is a 60-foot bell tower capped by a dome inlaid with 24-karat gold mosaic Italian tile crosses. The church was dedicated by Bishop Charles Buddy of the Diocese of San Diego on December 12, 1956. The parish came into the Diocese of San Bernardino in 1978 when it was created.

Currently, under the outstanding leadership of its Administrator, Fr. Anthony Dao, O.P., Our Lady of Lourdes enjoys a membership of 1,800 vibrant and prayerful families of diverse ethnic and cultural backgrounds. Together the parish community supports and promotes the diocesan vision of "...impacting family, neighborhood and society with the Gospel so that people's lives are filled with hope."