History of Queen of Angels

The uncertain beginnings of present day Queen of Angels, Idyllwild, found strength in the foresight and determination of two successive pastors from St. Anthony, San Jacinto.

Early in June 1942, Fr. Malachy O'Sullivan was visiting Idyllwild and saw the potential for a future mountain resort parish in an aging rustic cabin nestled in the tiny village. Negotiations moved swiftly and on August 30, San Diego Bishop Charles Buddy, received title to Fr. O'Sullivan's "Our Lady of the Pines," renamed Queen of Angels by the bishop himself. Formal dedication of the cabin-turned-chapel took place September 6, 1942.

The shadows of winter and war almost ended Fr. O'Sullivan's summertime dream. The chapel was crushed by the heavy snows of '43-'44, and wartime material shortages made rebuilding it out of the question. It was almost a year before the Federal War Production Board would grant the new pastor of St. Anthony permission for the edifice that survives to this day. In the meantime, the 10-family parish and village visitors retreated to the shelter of the local theater for the celebration of the sacraments.

In this new millennium, Queen of Angels is the Catholic heart of an alpine resort visited by people from every country on earth. The parish guest register bears their signatures, greetings and prayers. Grateful to its founding pastors, Queen of Angels Parish continues to welcome all who come.