History of Our Lady of the Assumption Church

A new era dawned December 10, 1954, when approximately 150 families gathered in the American Legion Hall at 40th and Sepulveda in San Bernardino to celebrate Our Lady of Assumption's first Mass with its first pastor, Fr. Peter Minnagh. At the time, the parish was part of the Diocese of San Diego.

Although many of the original parishioners who helped to build the church have now gone to their eternal rest, some who hammered nails or wielded paint brushes remain.

Over the church's 54 years, parishioners have enjoyed the spiritual guidance of many priests. The first permanent deacon, G. Dale Plein, and his wife Maureen were key instruments in parish lay ministry formation and long-range diocesan planning. The parish has also been blessed by the presence and ministry of the Sisters of Mercy, especially in their work in the school and in the Religious Education Program.

Many ministries vital to building the faith community on a solid rock foundation developed early and continue to this day.

In recent years, the parish has become more multicultural with the growth of strong Latino and Filipino communities. An active Grupo de Oracion, Grupo Renovacion and a vibrant Coro de Ninos, as well as an adult Spanish-speaking choir, have come into being.

Our Youth Group adds spirit and soul to the weekly Youth Mass and are actively involved in many parish activities.

Fr. David and the parish community look forward to implementation of our twenty-five year Master Plan.